Youth Law T.E.A.M. of Indiana, Inc.
a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization

Influencing positive systemic change in youth's legal issues in the juvenile justice, education and child welfare systems within Indiana.

Mental Heath Screening, Assessment and Treatment Project
445 N. Pennsylvania Street, Suite 520   Indianapolis, Indiana  46204
Phone: (317) 916-0786   Fax: (317) 916-5369
The Indiana Juvenile Mental Health Screening, Assessment and Treatment Pilot Project is a collaborative effort to institute routine screening, assessment and treatment for youth entering detention centers in Indiana.  The concept for the pilot program was a result of the Indiana State Bar Association's (ISBA) Children, Mental Health and the Law Summit, held on August 27, 2004. The Summit resulted in a published report and recommendations that earned national recognition for its groundbreaking efforts.  The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute (ICJI) provided the initial start-up funds for the Pilot Project in 2006. 

The Pilot Project was modeled on a highly successful screening project in Pennsylvania-the Juvenile Detention Centers' Association of Pennsylvania Mental Health Grant.  The Pennsylvania Project was implemented in phases, beginning with the development of protocol for screening, resource identification and training; over a seven- year period, 21 of 23 detention centers began routinely screening youth for mental health problems upon admission.  As in the Pennsylvania effort, the Pilot Project seeks to grow into a state-wide initiative over a 5 to 7 year period.

Important goals of the Indiana Juvenile Mental Health Screening, Assessment and Treatment Pilot Project are to show both the social and economic benefits of adequately and systematically addressing mental health needs at an early stage in the juvenile justice system by development of a model that can be replicated statewide.  Pertinent data from the Pilot Site Counties will be collected to both facilitate and report the achievement of this goal.

Honorable Mary Harper        
Porter Circuit Court

JauNae Hanger, JD        
Civil Rights of Children Committee        
Waples and Hanger

Mary "Kathy" Cullison, LCSW,

Laurie Elliott, JD
Amy Karozos, JD
Youth Law T.E.A.M. of Indiana

                                              Indiana Pilot Sites
          Bartholomew County            Clark County             Dearborn County
             Delaware County             Elkhart County              Grant County               
             Hamilton County             Howard County            Jackson County
             Johnson County                Knox County                Lake County
             LaPorte County               Marion County              Porter County
          Tippecanoe County              Vigo County
Mental Health State Advisory Board Meetings

February 8, 2013 Minutes
April 5, 2013 Minutes
June 7, 2013 Minutes
August 2, 2013 Minutes
October 4, 2013 Minutes
December 6, 2013 (Cancelled)
February 7, 2014 Minutes
May 9, 2014
August 8, 2014
November 14, 2014

LOCATION: Indiana Judicial Center
               30 S. Meridian Street
              8th Floor Conference Room
             Indianapolis, IN 46204
*  9:00 am - 10:30 am EST.
Upcoming Meeting and Events
       Monthly Site Coordinator Discussion              ( at IJDA Meeting)
January 14, 2014- Hamilton County 10:30 am
February 11, 2014- Howard County 10:30 am
March 11, 2014- Bartholomew County 10:30 am
April 8, 2014- Madison County 10:30 am
May 13-14, 2014- SUMMIT- West Lafayette
June 10, 2014- Porter County 10:30 am
July 8, 2014- Marion County 10:30 am
August 12, 2014- Allen County 10:30 am
September 9, 2014- TBD
October 14, 2014- LaPorte County 10:30 am
November 18, 2014- Madison County 10:30 am
December 9, 2014- Delaware County 10:30 am
  Contact Amy Karozos if you have any questions or concerns

  * All meetings are on Eastern Time starting at 10:30

Steering Committee Conference Calls
February 5, 2014
April 30, 2014
July 30, 2014
November 5, 2014

Contact Amy Karozos to receive access numbers to participate in conference calls.

* 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST.